the girl with the bicycle

adventures in and around the city

Quilting Quandry

I’ve decided to make a patchwork quilt for myself, and with a new sewing machine and lots of pretty fabrics to make it with, it should be easy right?

The only trouble is, I’ve never made one before and I didn’t realise when I decided to embark on this project what a mine field it was to decide on a pattern.  So I trundled down to my trusty local library to stock up on some quilting literature and have only served to confuse myself further.

Hexagonal, diamond or diagonal cut pieces? Beats me. All I know is that I want to attempt something that looks impressive but is a little more challenging than your sewn together squares, but nothing too advanced either! A tall order perhaps?

I have some really beautiful patterned fabrics including some very expensive Cath Kidston material (I won’t tell you how much I paid for it) and I want to make a quilt that looks really pretty without being too busy or OTT, and I have bought some white fabric to offset the patterned pieces.

Can anyone give me some advice or point me in the direction of a good website/book with clear instructions to help get me started?

3 comments on “Quilting Quandry

  1. little red monkey
    September 24, 2012

    I am relatively new to quilting, here is my first one http://littleredmonkey.wordpress.com/2012/04/28/my-fabulous-first-quilt/

    My advice would be to keep it simple, I am slowly (and begrudgingly) learning that less is sometimes more.

    Practice before you cut into about good fabric! Match your seams, you can alway use your practice blocks for the backing material!

    I have learned loads from the Internet, YouTube is great, Missouri (sp?) quilt co in particular.

    Hope this helps 🙂

    • girlwiththebicycle
      September 25, 2012

      That is a beautiful quilt! I know what you mean about seems and edges, I did my first patch yesterday and have decided to move towards a hexagonal pattern now after all. Thanks for the tips- much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 24, 2012 by in Make and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 37 other followers

