the girl with the bicycle

adventures in and around the city

Renegade Craft Fair London 2012

On Sunday my husband and I cycled the short distance to Brick Lane to attend the Renegade Craft Fair. Renegade is a large craft marketplace which was originally started in the US and has events across US cities and now in London! It showcases the best in independent craft with the main emphasis on Do-It-Yourself.

There were so many talented designers in one room displaying their wares that it was difficult for us to see it all in one go, which was a good excuse for us to sneak downstairs for some food from one of the many world food stalls in the basement!

Amongst the designers were print artists, jewellery makers, sculptors, doll creators and cross stitchers, plus there were representatives from Mollie Makes and The Simple Life magazine offering excellent subscription deals- I signed up for both, I’m a sucker for a bargain!

The market itself was really well orchestrated and there was plenty to keep us occupied, including maker stations to learn new crafts.

I have often said that I would love to take part in a craft fair, but I tend to give most of the things that I make away or I make things on request, or by commission. Being at Renegade really inspired me to think again about getting myself organised and getting a little stall somewhere.

10 comments on “Renegade Craft Fair London 2012

  1. lovinghomemade
    September 18, 2012

    You should definitely give it a go – your brooches and prints are great for starters!

  2. Lori
    September 18, 2012

    How fun! I love craft fairs. There is just something to them that reminds me of yester-year.

    • girlwiththebicycle
      September 19, 2012

      I agree, a great place to go for inspiration. I come back with so many ideas I feel like my head will explode!

  3. thelittleredhorse
    September 19, 2012

    That looks so fun!!!! Love craft fairs like that!! If you are feeling the inspiration, you should totally go for it!

    • girlwiththebicycle
      September 19, 2012

      Thank you! You know I think you’re right, sometimes you’ve got to give things a go and see where it gets you.

  4. Terri at Time To Be Inspired
    September 21, 2012

    Thanks for bringing attention to Renegade Fairs – looks like there was some great stuff there! I have never taken part in a craft fair either, but seeing some good fairs does make you think it could be a good thing to work towards.

  5. stephanie
    September 23, 2012

    I love craft fairs! They always inspire me to come home and make something. Also I like to support these creative crafts people who are giving it a go.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 18, 2012 by in Out and about and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 37 other followers

