the girl with the bicycle

adventures in and around the city

My Olympic and Paralympic 2012

Having the Olympic Park practically on my doorstep meant I was lucky enough to experience London 2012 first hand.

For the past month the city has been buzzing with people getting into the Olympic spirit, and it was so exciting to be a part of something that everyone (mostly everyone) was supporting!

Although I didn’t apply for tickets through the ballot system, I was incredibly fortunate to experience the games on 3 separate occasions.

My first taste of the 2012 experience was the Athletics where I got to see the mens 100 metres final with the man Usain Bolt!

The roar of the crowd was deafening, the atmosphere was electric and the stadium was a momentous spectacle, one that I will never forget.

I also got to see a GB gold at the Paralympic dressage and Oscar Pistorious break the world record in the mens 400m heats!

To top it all off yesterday in London we had the victory parade for all the GB athletes, which was our opportunity to celebrate their achievements and to thank them for all their hard work and commitment.

I can’t believe it’s all over, I’m sad to see it go.

Roll on Rio!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 11, 2012 by in Out and about and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 37 other followers

