the girl with the bicycle

adventures in and around the city

Christmas in September?

Ok well technically it was August when I started, but every year it gets earlier. Yes, I’m talking about Christmas preparations and everything that goes with it.

Christmas 2007 I made some small baskets for my family containing mostly things I’d bought- nice chocolates, socks, a good book and some gingerbread men.

The next year I moved up to full-scale homemade hampers that included honey roast hams, homemade bread roles, christmas puddings, mince pies, jam, chutney, pickled onions – you name it!

Since then, the tradition has stuck, and coming from a big family (I have 5 brothers and sisters and so does my husband, and countless nephews/nieces) this means I have to start preparing EARLY.

I try to ensure I make things that people would like and most importantly want, as pleasing kids and teenagers (and certain big kids) with things homemade can sometimes be difficult.

I found this pattern for slipper socks on the Patons website, which is almost identical to a pair I was given from River Island a couple of years ago. They were really comfy and I think they’ll be really easy to jazz up with some extra accessories so that my niece likes them. Made from Aran in a chunky knit, I’m hoping they will be quick and easy so that I can move onto the next project!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 4, 2012 by in Make and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 37 other followers

