the girl with the bicycle

adventures in and around the city

Chocolate and Coconut Madeleines

Last week I bought myself a madeleine pan from Amazon, with the intention of becoming the next pastry chef extraordinaire from my little Hackney kitchen!

Ok so a batch of madeleines doesn’t necessarily qualify you as one of the greats, but I thought I would try my hand at some traditional french patisserie cakes and see how hard it could be.

Using the recipe for Honey and Vanilla Madeleines on the BBC Good Food website, I found them fairly quick and easy to make. Although saying that, I made my life particularly more difficult by not having a fully functioning whisk- so make sure you have one to hand, preferably electric.

The first batch was so yummy that I started to experiment with my own flavours, such as ginger and chocolate and coconut.

My husband enjoyed the chocolate ones so much, I thought I’d share the recipe.

Ingredients

80g Plain Flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
20g desiccated coconut
2 tbsp good quality cocoa powder – I used Green and Blacks 
75g caster sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1tbsp clear honey
90g melted butter
Icing sugar for dusting

Method

  1. Sift the flour, baking powder, desiccated coconut and cocoa with a pinch of salt. Butter a 12-hole madeleine tin and dust each hole with a light sprinkling of flour. Whisk the sugar and eggs until thick, pale and fluffy. Gently fold in the flour mix, vanilla, honey and butter. Cover the surface of the mix with clingfilm and chill for 30 minutes.
  2. Heat the oven to 200C/fan 180C/gas 6. Fill each madeleine whole with 1 heaped tbsp of mix. Bake for 10 minutes or until risen and springy. Tap the tin to loosen and tip out. Dust with icing sugar and serve warm.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 28, 2012 by in Recipes and tagged , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 37 other followers

